Scholarships & Bursaries

The Butters Foundation has a longstanding commitment to supporting students pursue careers in the health and rehabilitation sectors.


The Lily Butters Prize

The Butters Foundation has been awarding annual bursaries to graduating seniors from both the English & French programs of the bilingual Massey-Vanier Secondary School in Cowansville, since the early 1990s. On the English side, two bursaries are awarded each year. The Lily Butters prize ($1,000) is awarded to a top student of the graduating class and a bursary of $500 is awarded to another top level student. These bursaries are intended to support the continuing studies of these winners at the collegial level.


In 2017, the winners of the Lily Butters Prize, on the English side, were Patrick Janulewicz (left)  and  Angel Hebert (right) in one photo and Vanessa Bresee in the second photo. Both photos had Ron Creary of the foundation squeezed between & next to the winners, (see photos below).












2016 Massey-Vanier Secondary School Butters Foundation Bursary Winner (French side)

Jérémie Nadeau (right) captured the Butters Foundation prize and the Academic Medal of the Governor General at the school’s annual awards night in early June 2016. The cheque for $1000 (foundation prize) was presented by M. Jacques Yelle (left), Vice-Chair of the Butters Foundation. We congratulate M. Nadeau on a job well done and wish him well in his future studies.

Dr. John A. Bryant Memorial Award

Dr. John A. Bryant, Past Chair of the Butters Foundation

Dr. John A. Bryant, Past Chair of the Butters Foundation

The Dr. John A. Bryant Award was started in the late 1980s in the Faculty of Education at McGill University (his alma mater) to commemorate the work of the late doctor for the Butters Foundation and for the cause of intellectual disability. Dr. Bryant was the Chairman of the Board of the Foundation during the early years of the Foundation, the medical director of the Cecil Butters Memorial Hospital, and the Chair of the Board of the Butters Center in the mid 1980s.

His dedication to his patients and to the work of Mrs. Butters and her successors was legendary. To all, in and around Magog, he was affectionately known as “Dr. Jack”.

This project has two aspects: a yearly donation to the John A. Bryant Collection (see below) and annual bursaries to graduate students in the Faculty of Education Social Inclusion programme, (see just below).

This project has been in place for over 30 years and has helped many post-graduates earn advanced degrees in Education and go on to serve intellectually disabled students across the country and beyond.


‘’Changing Lives by Creating Opportunity’’- A Special Invitation


On Wednesday April 19th, 2017 representatives of the Butters Foundation were invited to a celebration of student achievement and donor support at the Faculty of Education of McGill University. The Executive Director of the foundation, Ron Creary, had been invited to give the keynote speech in recognition of the foundation’s 30 years of support for the graduate student bursary program. He was accompanied by this year’s winner of the John A. Bryant Bursary, Ms Isabella Scurfield. Both short speeches were well received and complimented each other. Mr. Creary gave a history of Dr. Jack Bryant, his connection to McGill University and to the Butters Foundation. Ms. Scurfield described her work in the community and how this bursary would help her pursue her professional dreams with disabled students, (see photos below).

Ron Creary

Isabella Scurfield, Bursary winner 2017

Mr. Creary was joined by Dr. Bryant’s daughter and director of the Butters Foundation, Mrs. Beverly Bryant and her son, Gillette, (see photo below with Ms. Scurfield).








With the financial support of the Butters Foundation, McGill University has decided to commit to this annual John A. Bryant bursary in perpetuity.


Dept th y letter

The Doris Mildred Parsons Achievement Bursary

Doris Mildred Parsons

Doris Mildred Parsons

Doris Mildred Parsons was born in Hillhurst, a small community just outside of Coaticook in 1911. She completed her Teaching Degree from Macdonald College (McGill University) in 1939. She then returned to the Eastern Townships and devoted her life to teaching in the English public elementary and secondary systems. She taught in Richmond, Magog, Sutton, and lastly in Cowansville. She retired in 1966 but continued to keep a keen interest in the educational system in her community and beyond. Her commitment to excellence, promotion of educational advancement, and encouragement of community service are her legacy to the English-speaking community of the Eastern Townships.

Ms. Parsons left a bequest to the Butters Foundation to support the education of young adults in the pursuit of professional careers. In this regard, The Butters Foundation has created the Doris Mildred Parsons Achievement Bursary. Each year a student in the Special Care Counseling Program of Champlain regional College – Lennoxville Campus will be awarded a bursary of $2000. The successful student will be in good standing with the CEGEP, having just finished the second year of the program and committed to returning for the final year. The winner will be the student who, in the second year of the Programme, best exemplifies the qualities of Ms. Parsons and has exhibited the will and capacity to excel. The Butters Foundation is proud to be a part of the legacy of Ms. Parsons.

Bursary criteria

The-Butters-FoundatioinPlaque-Group-004This $2000 bursary will be awarded once annually in early May, to a Special Care Counselling student at Champlain Regional College-Lennoxville Campus who has successfully completed his/her second year in the program and plans to continue into the final year. In honor of Ms. Parson’s epitaph of “Scholar Educator Enthusiast”, the recipient will personify the following attributes:

Scholarship                    Leadership                      Dedication

In light of the above attributes, the selection committee will be looking for the following characteristics in the successful candidate for the Achievement Bursary:

  1. A student who has shown dedication to and success in his/her studies, and is hardworking and determined.
  2. A student who demonstrates a warm, pleasant and positive attitude towards others, both in his/her fieldwork setting and in class.
  3. A student who demonstrates the qualities of a professional worker such as punctuality, dependability, confidentiality, respect, and commitment both at the College as well as in Fieldwork.
  4. A student who has shown leadership in classroom activities and/or in fieldwork assignments.


2017 Cégep de Granby Winner

Lilianne Mathieu, prof., Martine Messier, boursiére, Ron Creary, Fondation Butters, Marie-Line Vachon, prof.

The 2016 Cégep de Granby Winners:

Left to right:  Marie-Line Vachon, Prof, Ron Creary, Butters Foundation, Joannie Roy, 1st winner, Jimmy Roy, 2nd winner, and Lilianne Mathieu, Prof




2017 Massey-Vanier Secondary School Butters Foundation Bursary Winner (French side)

Brittany Pelletier-Villeneuve (right) captured the Butters Foundation prize and the Academic Medal of the Governor General at the school’s annual awards night in early June 2017. The cheque for $1000 (foundation prize) was presented by Chantal Yelle (left), accompanied by her son Vincent Beauregard. We congratulate Brittany on a job well done and wish her well in her future studies.